Thursday, September 11, 2008

Free time...

Today Malia had preschool which gives me 2 1/2 hours of beautiful free time. Business before pleasure, right...So, I did my annual Woman appointment (if you know what I mean). Then, I had 1 1/2 blessed hours all by myself. I went to the library. I wandered around all by myself in blissful peace. I looked at other books by authors that I like and checked out the computer for the best selling books. It was a thing of beauty. I picked out a couple books (including My Sister's Keeper by Jodi Piccoult - thanks Judy for that idea) and then I had enough time to go to 7-11 and get myself a big drink. I was driving down Clovis Avenue thinking...Did I die? Am I in heaven?

On a side note. After my fabulous free time, all H*** breaks loose. I had to pick up Bella from a friend's house, go home, make dinner, feed the girls and Rick and then go get the boys, hand them a snack, get Carter changed in the car, and take the boys to soccer. Then, we sit at soccer for an hour (which is actually quite pleasant...picture Carter, set free after being at school for 9 hours, with a ball, and freedom to run all over the place...good stuff). Then, I bring the boys home at 7:15 or so, fix them dinner, get them showerd and into bed. It's crazy, but that free time in the middle of the day is something of beauty...

Wednesday, September 10, 2008

Malia's game...

Every night when Malia goes to bed, in her prayers, she says, "Please help that Nana can come over tomorrow." Then she opens her eyes, looks at me and says, "Mom, can Nana come over tomorrow?" To which I replay, probably not tomorrow. She kept getting so mad that finally I started answering, "soon Malia. Nana will come over soon." So she extended her game. Now, at least 10 times a day she asks me when Nana is coming over. Well, thinking I would make her happy this week, I told her we were going to Nana's on Friday. She got so mad. She said, "No mom. I ask you when we go to Nana's house and you say 'soon.'" Lesson learned after like 5 times of this happening. So today, to give Rick a taste of it, I responded to her question this morning by saying "on Friday we'll go to Nana's house." She of course yelled back, "No mom, you say soon. Not Friday. Soon. OKAY?" I walked in the kitchen to find Rick chuckling because he had heard the exchange...

It is not a fun game. I am tired of answering the question 10 times a day only to be yelled at if I answer incorrectly. It's like being on some kind of sick game show you'd see on Groundhog Day (the movie). Someone get me out of here!!

Tuesday, September 9, 2008

wow......I mean, I don't know what else to say...

I had a blonde moment today. I mean a really really blonde moment. You want to know what it was, don't you? Well keep wondering...it is a secret I shall not divulge. Thankfully there were no witnesses. Keep on guessing...you'll never get it.

Monday, September 8, 2008

Hmmmm...

I wonder why my clicker on my keys isn't working...could it be because I sent it through the washing machine with a load of towels twice so they would be super clean(the towels, not the keys)? What were the keys doing in the washer? Isn't that where everyone puts their keys?

Friday, September 5, 2008

The haps in Fresno...


Jake had his first cross country meet. He placed 14th out of 66 4th graders which I thought was so fabulous! It was crazy hot...104 in Fresno. They say this is the last heat wave of the summer and I am hoping for Jake's sake that they are correct! He was so strong...there were little kids laying on the grass crying because they hated running in the heat and they were tired. Jake was completely energized and excited to be there.

Bella, Ammon and Malia lplayed in our white trash swimming pool. I mean, what else would you use a cooler for?

Seriously, three kids never had more fun with water than this cooler, the hose, and our swingset. Why would I need a real pool???
It's been a long week. I am so tired. The kids are finally in bed and the weekend has begun. I am looking forward to planting myself on the couch tomorrow to enjoy some serious football. Too bad UCLA is not playing! Go Cougars!

The Skinny from the Big D

In an effort to catch up on the last few, I thought I'd go nuts and post some pics...

Elizabeth had her 2 week appointment today. She weighed in at a crushing 8 lbs. 1 oz and she had grown almost an inch since her two day appointment. Is it me or is she getting cuter every day? Judy, if you're reading this, I would love to schedule a photo shoot with Elizabeth while we're in town for Christmas. Let me know.

Coach came to town and was the most fun to have around. You can see the kids didn't object to her visit at all.

She was a total show off and got Elizabeth to go to sleep when I struck out at it.

And she cut my hair off! Isn't she the raddest? I think so.

Elizabeth got to meet just about the only one of our single friends we ever still hang out with and she loved him!

And here's your bonus photo. Elizabeth in her Bruin colors to show her support of the family team. You'll notice that she's scowling at the camera because I have her in her carseat. Alalalala. And that's the scoop from our neck of the woods. What's new with you all?

Tuesday, September 2, 2008

It's a beautiful day in our neighborhood...

Is anybody else still in shock? Outside sources confirm that the Bruins actually did win. I don't think that I have ever seen such a contrast between a first half and a second half. Pretty fun to watch.

http://www.latimes.com/sports/